2002 Photo from the David Stambaugh collection
115 SW Second St|
|Record #9966 |
Capacity: 720 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Varsity|
Information for this tour was contributed by David Stambaugh.
The original lessees of the theater were Samuel Whiteside and Charles Small. The building was constructed and opened in 1913, soon after Whiteside and Small's first theater, the Palace (1898) burned down. It operated as the Majestic Theatre from 1913 to 1949.
From a scrapbook clipping: "The Majestic had an 800-seat combination theatre and moving picture house ... The 6-A Powers moving picture machine was located in a room at the back center of the balcony."
From 1949 to 1982 it operated as the Varsity Theatre. The Varsity was closed from 1982 to about 1990. Sometime around 1990, the city of Corvallis became involved in resurrecting The Majestic as a performing arts venue.
Samuel Whiteside is believed to have ceased his involvement with the Majestic in 1922, when he built his own theater, the Whiteside.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
2002 photos from the David Stambaugh collection.
79 KB · 625x352
81 KB · 625x414
57 KB · 625x414
58 KB · 625x414
49 KB · 625x414
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/22/2005. Last edited 12/20/2008.