Photo from the Scott Neff collection
1716 Central St|
Evanston IL 60201
|Record #6456 |
Opened: April 17, 1937|
Architectural Style(s): Art Deco
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Stadium|
| Previously operated by: M&R Theatres, Loews Theatres, Loews Cineplex Entertainment|
The 1250-seat Stadium was built in 1936 as a movie house and was later converted for use as a live performance venue during the 1940s and 1950s. The Magill family bought the building in 1956 and converted it back into a movie house, adding another auditorium at 1702 Central Street. A 1969 remodeling included a name change to Evanston. Loews Theatres leased the theater for nearly 20 years, expanding it to five screens and closing it in 2001. A study is currently being conducted to determine the feasibility of converting the five-screen movie theater into a performance venue and dance studio.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the Scott Neff collection.
34 KB · 338x450
26 KB · 338x450
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2/19/2003. Last edited 11/11/2016.