Regal Ukiah Stadium 6
Photo from the Scott Neff collection
Regal Entertainment Group|
612 S State St
Ukiah CA 95482
|Record #3057 |
Opened: September 8, 1948|
Architect(s): S Charles Lee
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Ukiah Theatre|
| Previously operated by: Redwood Theatres, Signature Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by William French, Jr..
Designed in 1941 but not built until 1948 because of WWII. The Ukiah opened September 8, 1948, for George Mann's birthday. The Ukiah was built under the company name of Trinity Theaters, which was owned by Mann, and then after it was built, it was transfered to his Redwood Theatres company. It was common practice for his theatres to be built for one company and then transfered to another.
The Ukiah Theatre was remodeled in January of 1994 by Redwood Theatres, then still owned by the Mann family. It was George Mann, Jr. who saved the theatre from being gutted.
The Ukiah Theatre was once again remodeled in 2005 by Signture Theatres (which had by then acquired Redwood Theatres). Stadium seating was installed but the sound issues were not corrected.
The architect is currently being questioned. The Ukiah is listed in "The Show Starts on the Sidewalk" as being designed by the firm of S. Charles Lee. There are sources that say William B. David was the architect, but he had already left the Lee firm years before the design date.
The date of design comes from the April 14, 1948, edition of the Ukiah Republican Press.
The tower of the Ukiah Theatre was part of an apartment that was built for George Mann. The apartment is still there, even though the access has been changed.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
2004 photos from the William French Jr collection.
75 KB · 625x469
57 KB · 625x469
41 KB · 625x469
2003 photos from the Adam Martin collection.
39 KB · 450x300
40 KB · 301x450
49 KB · 301x450
38 KB · 450x300
January 1994 photos from the Ukiah Daily Journal collection.
74 KB · 600x468
Mike Spencer, right,...
71 KB · 422x600
Richard and George M...
September 1948 photos from the Ukiah Redwood Journal collection.
48 KB · 310x400
Mr. and Mrs. George ...
56 KB · 400x318
Out-of-town guests a...
58 KB · 600x337
Here stand the men w...
91 KB · 600x388
The Journal's c...
86 KB · 600x482
George M. Mann'...
June 1948 photos from the Ukiah Redwood Journal collection.
49 KB · 400x259
At the South State s...
Photos from the Scott Neff collection.
34 KB · 450x338
40 KB · 338x450
Photos from the William French Jr collection.
38 KB · 450x361
47 KB · 450x377
57 KB · 625x323
The entrance in the ...
45 KB · 540x335
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 4/30/2003. Last edited 11/10/2018.