1709 N Galvez St|
New Orleans LA
|Record #30239 |
Opened: September 27, 1939|
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 1800 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: Jadel Theaters, United Theaters, Lazarus Independent Theatres|
Built in a predominantly black neighborhood, the Circle opened with segregated seating; 580 seats on the floor and 900 seats in the balcony. It was desegregated in 1971 when Rene Brunet Jr took over operation in December of that year. After closing as a theater, the Circle was home to a bingo hall until its demolition on December 11, 1990.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 10/12/2008. Last edited 12/14/2012.