Metropolitan Opera House
Photo from the Columbus Metropolitan Library collection.
197 S High St|
|Record #26352 |
Closed: January 26, 1892
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Comstock's Opera House|
Information for this tour was contributed by Columbus Metropolitan Library.
The November 30, 1874, Dispatch reported that the Metropolitan Opera House was the first building in Columbus with electric ignited, gas jet lighting. The Metropolitan Opera House, also called The Cotton Block and Comstock's Opera House was built in 1862 and burned 1/26/1892.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the Columbus Metropolitan Library collection.
102 KB · 625x383
83 KB · 619x625
108 KB · 625x356
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 11/25/2006. Last edited 11/25/2006.