1938 Photo from the John Williamson collection.
1754 Cleveland Ave|
Columbus OH 43211
|Record #19350 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 600 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: Academy Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by John Williamson.
The Cleve was designed and built by F&Y Construction, of Columbus. The center section of the front tower was glass block with a large motorized color unit that projected vertical bands of color moving from left to right. It is believed that the glass block section still exists under the plywood as seen in the photos.
The auditorium interior included "Hollywood" themed murals on the side walls. These murals were removed to the Indianola Theatre (aka Studio 35) and installed in reverse (left mural on right wall, etc.) where they remain today.
The projection equipment was Gardiner standard projectors with Weber Syncrofilm soundheads and Ashcraft Cyclex lamps, all sold by American Theatre Equipment Co.
The Cleve was owned by Academy Operating Co. (Leo Yassenoff) and remained open (off and on) until around 1964 when it closed for good.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
April 2004 photos from the Bob Meza collection.
40 KB · 625x469
1938 photos from the John Williamson collection.
70 KB · 625x466
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 6/10/2005. Last edited 8/29/2020.