Sunshine Brooks Theatre
2004 Photo from the Adam Martin collection
217 N Hill St|
|Record #16646 |
Capacity: 198 seats|
Architectural Style(s): Art Deco
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Margo, Towne|
Built in 1936 as the Margo with 659 seats, the theater ended up showing adult fare as the Towne before closing down and becoming a karate studio. The building was acquired by the city and was renovated in 2001 at a cost of $1.5 million.
The theater is named after Hattie "Sunshine" Brooks, who donated her majority interest in the building to the city.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
June 2004 photos from the Adam Martin collection.
May 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 12/31/2004. Last edited 3/24/2010.