19-23 E Fifth St|
|Record #15568 |
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 467 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Goodwin Opera House, Tempe Opera House, Menhennet|
| Previously operated by: Harkins Theatres|
The Goodwin Opera House opened in 1909 as a theater for movies and stage shows. Also referred to as the Tempe Opera House, it was renamed in 1921 to the Menhennet and in 1929 to the State.
In 1933, Dwight "Red" Harkins purchased the State, beginning the Harkins Theatres empire. When he built the College around the corner on Mill Avenue, the State was closed and later demolished and replaced with the new Tempe City Hall.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 10/25/2008.