Photo from the Charles Van Bibber collection
5010 Park Heights Ave|
|Record #15421 |
Opened: June 27, 1941|
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Use: Church
Architect(s): John Eyring
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Daniel Gibbs.
The Uptown opened in 1941 and closed in the late 1970s. The Uptown is high Moderne, with a yellow-brick and sandstone exterior. A pleasant, mostly Jewish suburb when the theatre opened, the Pimlico neighborhood is badly run down. It lay closed for many years and is currently used as a church. Originally, it featured all-reclining seats, an interior box office, and glass-enclosed, soundproof boxes for a slightly higher ticket price.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2/8/2004. Last edited 4/13/2013.