Information for this tour was contributed by Daniel Gibbs.
This theatre opened as the Empire in 1911, with burlesque a specialty. It was apparently a constant failure as such and in 1913 became the Palace. Apparently not the most respectable of the downtown theatres, it had some run-ins with the censors and closed in 1928. The building was used as a garage until 1946, when it was completely redecorated as a theatre. Its reopening night feature was the Baltimore premier of "It's a Wonderful Life". Jimmy Stewart himself was in the audience. The 1946 decor shows no sign of the old 1911 appearance, but is an excellent period piece involving bizarre recessed lighting and freakish metal sculptures on the sidewalls where the organ screens should be.
June 1992 photos from the John Lewis collection.
The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.
© 1995-2019 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.
www.cinematour.com :: 0.56 MB :: 5.78 MB