1992 Photo from the John Lewis collection.
210 W Lexington St|
|Record #15164 |
Opened: December 17, 1910|
Capacity: 1562 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: JF Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Daniel Gibbs.
Oddly, the "New" Theatre was one of the most ancient of the downtown movie palaces. Although small by palace standards, it was always a favorite with Baltimore audiences. It was modeled after the famous New Amsterdam in New York, and had similarly beautiful Art Nouveau decor. The main entrance was on Lexington Street, but was only twelve feet wide. A long hall led into a reception lobby that fed into the 1400 seat theatre. Redecorated in 1921 in a vaguely Japanese style, then again in 1929 and 1935, the New was always stylish even when larger and newer theatres were losing business. In 1946 yet another redecoration wiped out the original two balconies and replaced them with a single big one. The theatre was redecorated one last time in 1967; the old main entrance on Lexington was scrapped and the entrance moved around the corner onto Park Avenue. The structure is mostly still there, though after all those redecorations there isn't much left of the old theatre. Sadly, a new "revitalization" project for the old shopping district calls for the destruction of this theatre, always a local favorite.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
June 1992 photos from the John Lewis collection.
73 KB · 625x443
79 KB · 625x443
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 6/13/2019.