2001 Photo from the Adam Martin collection
3011 W Grand Blvd|
|Record #12375 |
Opened: November 11, 1928|
Capacity: 2089 seats|
Architect(s): Mayger & Graven; Rapp & Rapp
Architectural Style(s): Mayan Revival
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
The Fisher Theater opened on November 15, 1928, as a Kunsky-Publix theater with the film "Outcast". Designed with a Mayan motif, there were banana plants in the foyer, a goldfish pond and an aviary with live macaws.
The theater was also home to a 40-piece orchestra led by Sam Benavie, and hosted second-string stage shows from Paramount-Publix in 1928. Also featured was a 4-manual, 36-rank Wurlitzer organ. Organ performances ended in 1956 and the organ was moved to the Iris and later to the Senate.
By the time it closed in 1960, the Fisher was showing second-run films. For the Love of Mike and The Magnificent Seven were its final shows on December 23, 1960.
The original Mayger & Graven theater was remodeled by Rapp & Rapp in 1961 at a cost of $3.5 million. The theater reopened in 1961 as a stage theater with "The Gay Life".
The Detroit Theater Organ Society restored the Senate Theatre in 1963 and moved the Fisher's 4-manual, 34-rank organ there.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
July 2001 photos from the Adam Martin collection.
81 KB · 625x469
71 KB · 625x469
53 KB · 625x469
56 KB · 625x469
64 KB · 469x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 11/28/2004. Last edited 2/18/2014.