Welcome to CinemaTour!  Sign In

Cinema History Around the World  
 Contact Cinematour ·· Help & Hints ·· About Cinematour

Orpheum Theatre

Photo from the Kansas City Public Library collection.
W Ninth St & May St
Kansas City MO 64105

Demolished 1922
Record #10553  
 Opened: 1898
 Closed: 1914
 Demolished: 1922
Architectural Style(s):
National Register:
Current Organ: none
 Also Known As: Ninth Street Theatre

Information for this tour was contributed by Kansas City Public Library.

The old Orpheum Theater at 9th and May was originally H.D. Clarke's 9th Street Theater. It was leased by the Orpheum Theater and Realty Co. in 1898.

The Orpheum idea was born in the 1890s. Two vaudeville houses on the Pacific coast had succeeded in presenting a higher type of entertainment than was to be had in burlesque and variety houses. Kansas City was chosen the third city for such a theater on what became the Orpheum circuit.

Martin Lehman opened the theater Feb. 6, 1898, with a bill which attempted to prove that vaudeville was higher class than variety shows. The opening program: Boys Hungarian Band; Servais LeRoy, magician; Hayden & Hetherton, in a sketch; Gallando, a clay modeler; Gruet, Beers & Gruet, acrobatic comedians; the Vesuviano quartet; Miss Olga Hayden; Matthews & Harris in a sketch, and Biograph pictures.

The first season ended with a $20,000 deficit. But Lehman had faith, and another season was scheduled. By 1904, according to a Journal-Post story, "The Orpheum is now generally known as a gold mine and expects to break all records this year."

The theater continued in operation until 1914, when a new $500,000 theater was completed at 1212 Baltimore, just south of the Hotel Muehlebach.

For 27 years Orpheum vaudeville was presented in Kansas City. Among the stars were Will Rogers, Al Jolson, Eddie Cantor, Fred Stone, Elsie Janis, Nora Bayes, Willie and Eugene Howard, Mme. Sarah Bernhardt. Lehman's son, Lawrence, managed the theater in its later location.

The old Orpheum, as pictured, stood empty and neglected and badly vandalized before it was razed in 1922 by the owners, the H.D. Clark estate.

Kansas City Times
December 12, 1980

 Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.

Photos from the Kansas City Public Library collection.

95 KB · 390x625

 External Links


Return to the top of this page   or   Return to the main page

Last featured 3/8/2005. Last edited 12/5/2011.

The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.

© 1995-2023 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.
Use of this site signifies agreement to terms of service.

www.cinematour.com :: 0.56 MB :: 5.75 MB