2003 Photo from the Ken Roe collection
West End (London) UK
|Record #3717 |
Capacity: 1209 seats|
Architect(s): JE Saunders & RJ Worle; Cecil Masey
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Originally a music hall and later a live theatre, it was built in 1885 (architects J.E. Saunders and R.J. Worley). Films were shown as part of the music hall bill from 1908 and it became a full time cinema for periods in between live show use from 1911. In 1934, United Artists took over control and the interior was reconstructed (Cecil Masey), retaining the original 1885 exterior. United Artists operated the cinema as their main London Premier house until it closed in 1981. Seating was on three levels, stalls, circle and upper circle. After closure it was hoped that the building could be converted back into a live theatre, but this never happened and the interior was totally gutted to be converted into a shopping mall. A Madam Tussaud's wax museum for rock 'n roll stars is located in the upper part of the building in a space where two 500 seat cinemas were planned to be located.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
December 2003 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
104 KB · 450x338
44 KB · 450x298
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 12/10/2005.