Information for this tour was contributed by Klaus Weber.
The Capitol was built in 1954 by Gerhard Wolf in the rising village of Limburgerhof. First film shown was German after-war classic "Dr. Sauerbruch". Almost 50 years, later Mr. Wolf is still director of his movie house and has plans about future . This is remarkable because in the 1960s when theatres in the surounding villages closed, he also thought about giving up. But first supermarket-chains showed no interrest and later he didn't want to rent his house. Today the Capitol shows mainstream movies during the weekend and arthouse films during the week. The number of seats was reduced from originaly 500 to 200. Otherwise, the Capitol has a wonderful 1950s charisma. It is the last single-screen theatre of this size in Palatina.
2003 photos from the Klaus Weber collection.
The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.
© 1995-2019 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.
www.cinematour.com :: 0.56 MB :: 5.81 MB