2001 Photo from the Andrew Foot collection
121 University Ave W|
Windsor ON N9A 5P4
|Record #510 |
Opened: December 31, 1920|
Capacity: 1995 seats|
Architect(s): Thomas W Lamb
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Loews Windsor|
| Previously operated by: Famous Players Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Andrew Foot.
The Capitol Theater opened in December, 1920, as the Loews Theater, named for its owner Marcus A. Loew. It cost $600,000 to build. It was renamed the Capitol in 1922 and closed as a movie theater in 1989. It is currently open as a live theater.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 11/27/2018.