2006 Photo from the Jeff Knoll collection
1196 Wellington St|
|Record #1829 |
Opened: September 8, 1947|
Current Use: Church
Capacity: 894 seats|
Architect(s): Kaplan & Sprachman
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: Odeon Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Jeff Knoll.
Opened by the Zumar Brothers in 1947 with an 894-seat capacity, the Elmdale was midway between the Nola Theatre (to the West) and the Victoria (to the east, later the Towne). Purchased by Odeon Theatres after the closing of the Nola in 1948, it was renovated as a twin-screen theatre in 1981. In operation as a cinema until 1994, the building currently houses a Church.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
August 2006 photos from the Jeff Knoll collection.
80 KB · 625x469
75 KB · 625x469
70 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 12/9/2014.