Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Originally opened as the Astor, it closed in the 1950's and was converted into a storehouse. It re-opened in 1968 screening foreign films and by 1970 was known as the Filmor screening English language films again. In 1972 it was re-named the New Arts Cinema and began occasional live show use. In 1989 it became the Valhalla and was twinned in 1995 remaining today as a popular suburban Sydney art house cinema.
February 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.
© 1995-2019 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.
www.cinematour.com :: 0.56 MB :: 5.77 MB