Fine Arts Theatre
2006 Photo from the Adam Martin collection
627-29 Congress St|
|Record #974 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Use: Tavern
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Kotzschmar Hall, Casco, Capitol, Intown Cinema|
| Previously operated by: EM Loews Theatres|
Opened in 1891 as Kotzschmar Hall, the building was extended forward to the street and renamed the Casco Theatre in the early 1900s. The Casco was renovated again in the 1920s and became the Capitol. Another renovation and new name in 1959, this time the Fine Arts, with a second screen added in 1970 by taking over the building next door with its own entrance and box office. The original theater building has been demolished and the add-on building remains as a night club.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
July 2006 photos from the Adam Martin collection.
116 KB · 625x417
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 5/9/2003. Last edited 10/23/2018.