Alexander Pantages leased this theater in 1910 as his first of the famous Pantages vaudeville circuit. The interior has undergone several remodels, the most significant in the 1930s when the side boxes were removed. The original ceiling and proscenium ornamentation survives. The lobby has been converted to retail space and none of the original ornamentation is visible. On the exterior, "Pantages" is still visible above the marquee, which was added in the 1940s, when the name "Arcade" was taken from the neighboring Broadway-Spring Arcade building.
2003 photos from the Adam Martin collection.
2001 photos from the Bob Meza collection.
The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.
© 1995-2019 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.
www.cinematour.com :: 0.55 MB :: 5.90 MB