Photo from the Friends of the Missouri Theatre collection
719 Edmond St|
Saint Joseph MO 64501
|Record #9927 |
Opened: June 25, 1927|
Capacity: 1217 seats|
Architect(s): Boller Bros
Architectural Style(s): Persian
National Register: 1979
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: Durwood Theatres|
Designed by the Boller Brothers of Kansas City, Missouri, the Missouri Theatre opened in 1927. The theatre was owned by Joseph Goldman and, subsequently, Capital Building Co. of Lincoln, Nebraska; and the City of Saint Joseph.
The concession stand was added to the foyer in 1947 and new seating was installed in 1960 along with renovations to the loge and lobby. During the 1960s, the original marquees were removed as well as facade decorations. Also during the 1960s, the auditorium murals were painted over, the doors which connected the theater to the neighboring building were blocked, and the Wurlitzer pipe organ was removed.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 6/7/2016.