2002 Photo from the Konrad Schiecke collection
300 E Center St|
Le Roy IL
|Record #9890 |
Capacity: 158 seats|
Architect(s): WW Van Atta
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
The Princess Theatre on Main Street contained 300 seats, opened in 1916 as a silent movie house with the film "Tennessee's Partner". It continued to show movies until the mid-1980s, followed by a brief use as a country and western playhouse. The theater was purchased in 2003 by Dave Kraft and Susan and Kris Spaulding.
The theater reopened on Friday, August 6, 2004. It had been 22 years since a movie was shown at the Princess. The building was completely remodeled. Installed were a new screen, 158 new seats, JBL speakers for stereo-surround system, and Century projector.
In the fall of 2006, Mike Hanafin purchased the theater. It was initially leased, but the Hanafin family took over operation of the business on July 30, 2007.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
August 2004 photos from the Dave Kraft collection.
79 KB · 625x469
73 KB · 625x469
61 KB · 625x469
67 KB · 625x469
83 KB · 625x469
April 2004 photos from the Bob Meza collection.
97 KB · 625x469
95 KB · 625x469
105 KB · 625x469
98 KB · 625x469
60 KB · 625x469
April 2004 photos from the Dave Kraft collection.
90 KB · 625x469
111 KB · 625x469
March 2004 photos from the Dave Kraft collection.
October 2003 photos from the Dave Kraft collection.
The new roof is on.
Interior work has be...
2003 photos from the Dave Kraft collection.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 8/7/2004. Last edited 9/4/2007.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!