2002 Photo from the Konrad Schiecke collection
115 S Chicago Ave
Freeport IL 61032
|Record #6463 |
Opened: April 17, 1922|
Capacity: 1136 seats|
Architect(s): Rapp & Rapp
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Freeport|
Information for this tour was contributed by Darren Snow and Konrad Schiecke.
The Lindo opened on April 17, 1922. A contest to name the theatre resulted in a contraction of the names Lincoln and Douglas, who had held one of their famous debates in Freeport. The theater closed in 1934 due to financial troubles and was reopened in 1938. The 1202-seat theatre was renamed the Freeport in 1939 by proprietor Steve Bennis in 1939. The theater closed again on January 4, 1984. Shortly thereafter, the theater was purchased by Classic Cinemas. The name reverted back to Lindo and a triplex was done totaling 706 seats. Three more screens were added later as an addition.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 10/24/2002. Last edited 11/11/2007.