Lakehills Cinema 4
2003 Photo from the William T. Parr collection
2428 W Ben White Blvd|
Austin TX 78704
|Record #4671 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Use: Retail
Capacity: 1250 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: Regal Cinemas|
Information for this tour was contributed by William T. Parr.
The Lakehills Cinema Four was built in 1978 by Presidio Theatres of Austin, Texas. It was their second theatre built from the ground up. The first was the Riverside Twin in 1974. Auditoriums were spacious with a 450 seat, 300 seat, and two 250 seat auditoriums. The two big houses were originally built with Dolby Stereo, and sometime during the mid-1980s and prior to Act III buying Presidio, the large auditorium was retrofitted with a THX sound system and the two smaller ones received Dolby Stereo. All projectors were 35mm. The theatre operated until 1998 or 1999. It is now home to Strait Music Company, which kept the shell of the theatre, but gutted the rest and added a second floor all the way across the building.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
2003 photos from the William T. Parr collection.
42 KB · 450x338
58 KB · 450x338
59 KB · 450x338
43 KB · 450x338
39 KB · 450x338
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 3/8/2005. Last edited 3/8/2005.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!