|Record #39562 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Grant Smith.
C. M. Stringham managed a theater which showed films three nights a week in Rains.  The name of the theater is not known.
Rains, a mining town west of Helper, was founded in 1915 and closed in 1958. It was named after L. F. Rains, a prominent mining engineer in the early 1900s. 
There are photos of Rains on ripleysghosttowns.com.
1. "C. M. Stringham Family to Move to Ogden, Utah", 1 October 1925, News Advocate
2. "Rains", ghosttowns.com, September 2006
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/30/2011. Last edited 1/30/2011.