Town Hall Theatre
43118 Highway 299 E|
Fall River Mills CA
|Record #36379 |
Closed: May 7, 1940
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Donna Sylvester.
"The Town Hall Association was organized in 1914, when the people of Fall River Mills first felt the need of having a community center. The original committee consisted of A. H. Bosworth, Dr. M. D. Pratt, Ed McIntosh, B. F. Gassaway and Robert Summers. The committee, with the cooperation of the townspeople, was able to build a town hall and throughout the years it was in use, the various clubs and other townspeople contributed to maintain it in good order.
The first motion pictures to be shown in the hall were brought in once a week by E. B. Byard, who also was the first to bring sound pictures to Fall River Mills. He had portable equipment and visited each town once a week.
The original building was moved at the time the highway was built through Fall River as the highway commission bought up the property on which the building stood. The first property was donated by the Red River Lumber Company and the new property was bought from that same company when the building was moved.
On May 7, 1940, the building was razed by fire. James Murphy was operating the theatre on a nightly basis at that time."
* Town Hall history was copied from a souvenir program of The New Town Hall Theatre, dated June 27, 1941.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 3/11/2010. Last edited 2/21/2013.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!