Triangle Cinema 4
2001 Photo from the Dave Felthous collection
1228 Washington Way|
Longview WA 98632
|Record #2520 |
Closed: January 11, 2015
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: SRO Theatres, Cineplex Odeon Theatres, Act III Theatres, Regal Cinemas, Regal Entertainment Group|
Information for this tour was contributed by Dave Felthous.
Opened in late 1983, the Triangle Quad was considered "a little jewel" by the director of the theater division of Sterling Recreation Organization (nee Sterling Theaters). The grand opening featured The Right Stuff in the largest (450 seats) auditorium.
Longview's first multiplex was originally planned as a triplex on the site of the 1925 Columbia Theater. But Sterling ran into trouble with its plan to raze the Columbia and fill the basement so that the new theater could be built there. Soil tests weren't encouraging, so SRO sought an alternate site. The delay allowed a group of local citizens to launch a successful drive to save the old theater. The City of Longview bought the Columbia and exercised an option it had on property a block away, at the edge of the Triangle Mall. SRO bought that land from the city and built the Triangle, expanded to four screens.
A very pleasant theater, the Triangle's modest lobby is centered by a round snack bar; a mirrored ceiling makes the space seem more expansive. Auditorium walls are draped with cranberry-colored fabric. Before on-screen advertising came along, the screens were illuminated by gold and orange spotlights that gave a warm, bright atmosphere.
SRO put Dolby only in the large auditorium, but during Act III's reign, that system was replaced by digital sound, and the three other auditoriums also got digital equipment. The theater now is part of the Regal chain, which bought out Act III.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
September 2009 photos from the Matt Lutthans collection.
54 KB · 625x236
67 KB · 625x378
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 10/9/2016.