Brooklyn (New York) NY
|Record #24033 |
Opened: September 11, 1911|
Current Use: School
Capacity: 2235 seats|
Architect(s): William H McElfatrick
Architectural Style(s): Beaux Arts
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Allan Armstrong.
The RKO Bushwick, originally a Beaux Arts vaudeville show palace, sat 2235 patrons on its opening in 1911. Dwindling movie attendance left it converted to a church in 1969, then vacant after 1973. Although its interior was lost, it is currently being rebuilt as a school. Other historic Brooklyn theaters, desolate and abandoned, are not so lucky.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the Allan Armstrong collection.
71 KB · 625x432
82 KB · 354x625
88 KB · 625x333
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 11/15/2003. Last edited 10/17/2007.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!