|Record #22191 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 800 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Jim Harris.
The first theater in Littlefield was a two-story tin theater named the Lee. Built in 1924 by A. C. Chesher, it stood where the Penny’s store is on the east side of Phelps - 408 Phelps. This large wood-frame, tin-covered building seated 800 people and included a large balcony. A melodeon-like keyboard called a Violano entertained theatergoers before, between, and during the silent films. The Lee was used for a number of civic activities including church meetings. As a theater, the Lee did so well that, within a very few months, the Cheshers and city manager Max McClure formed a new company, CM Theaters, and set out to build a more permanent second theater, the Palace, which opened in 1925. The Lee did not stand for long, and it was torn down sometime prior to 1938. The Penny’s store was built in its place, and the space is now in use by the Trinity Church Fellowship.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2/7/2003. Last edited 12/31/2005.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!