Welcome to CinemaTour!  Sign In

CinemaTour
 
Cinema History Around the World  
 HOME ·· CINEMAS ·· LINKS ·· BOOKS
 Contact Cinematour ·· Help & Hints ·· About Cinematour
 

Stony Creek Theater


2002 Photo from the Roger Katz collection
128 Thimble Island Rd
Branford CT 06405
(203) 457-0138

Visit Website Live Theatre
Record #21879  
 Opened: 1903
Capacity:
Architect(s):
Architectural Style(s):
National Register:
Current Organ: none
 Also Known As: Lyric, Idle Hour, Puppet House

Information for this tour was contributed by Puppet House Theatre.

The Puppet House was originally built in 1903 as a silent movie theater called the Lyric Theater. In 1920, The Parish Players, a Stony Creek community theater group, purchased the building and opened it as the Stony Creek Theater. At this time the stage area and fly gallery were added on. The Parish Players in collaboration with Lee Shubert went on to produce the world premiere of "Death Takes a Holiday".

In the 1930s, the theater became a professional summer stock house. Such stars as Orson Welles, Joseph Cotten and many other members of the Mercury Players performed here. They began experimenting with film, which was to include a Stony Creek production of "Too Much Johnson," a farce written by William Gillette.

During World War II, the building was transformed into a parachute factory and did its part to help in the war effort. After the war the building became a womens garment factory. Through this era of its history many locals were employed here. Oil stains can still be seen in the floor from the sewing machines. The factory moved out in 1959 and the theater was about to start a new chapter in its history.

In 1960, Grace Weil, a local puppet collector, decided she needed a place to display her puppets. She purchased the building with the intention of opening an international puppet museum. Shortly after, she acquired the Sicilian puppets that now adorn the walls. Mrs. Weil proceeded to transform the building back into a theater and named it the International Puppet Museum. Unfortunately Grace passed away shortly after the puppets began performing in 1963. Her son, Jim Weil, then took over the building and kept it alive with puppet shows and allowing various Theater groups, bands and artist to showcase their art here. He always believed that the theater belonged to Stony Creek and the community. With his love for music and the arts, the Puppet House soon became a valuable community cultural resource for the shoreline and Connecticut.

 Photos
 Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.

2002 photos from the Roger Katz collection.


32 KB · 450x338


 External Links

---
---

Return to the top of this page   or   Return to the main page


Last featured 7/30/2005. Last edited 9/27/2013.

 
Fandango
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!

The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.

© 1995-2014 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.
Use of this site signifies agreement to terms of service.