Bethel Opera House
2003 Photo from the Roger Katz collection
186 Greenwood Ave|
|Record #20923 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Use: Retail
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Barnum, Fishers Hall, Nichols Opera House, Leeja Hall|
Information for this tour was contributed by Roger Katz.
The following history of the Bethel Opera House was taken from the town of Bethel's website:
The Bethel Opera House on Greenwood Avenue was built in 1860 by Augustus A. Fisher. It has housed a public hall with hat manufacturing on the ground level, a social hall, a roller skating rink, and a high school gym. It once served as a silent movie theater, the Barnum Theatre. It was known as Fisher's Hall, then Nichols' Opera House. During the 1930s and 1940s, it was called Leeja Hall and was used for town meetings as well as a high school gym. It now houses a restaurant, shops and White Light Studio.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
2003 photos from the Roger Katz collection.
47 KB · 450x338
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/18/2005. Last edited 1/18/2005.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!