E Main St|
|Record #20632 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Konrad Schiecke.
After purchasing the business from Maude and Sarah Roberts, a Mr. Bowles moved the operation to the Meeker Building on East Main Street. The theatre was next sold to a Mr. Perkins, who in turn sold to the Mussers in 1924. In 1935, they expanded into the building next door, and added air conditioning in 1939. In 1951, it was completely remodeled and had a seating capacity of 482. Mr. & Mrs. Bob Johnson were the last owners of the Lyric when it burned in the mid-1960s. The building was gutted and the marquee was removed, but the building still stands.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 5/30/2002. Last edited 1/1/2006.