2002 Photo from the Konrad Schiecke collection
107 W Mason St|
|Record #20606 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 244 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Polo|
Information for this tour was contributed by Konrad Schiecke.
The Lyric opened in 1918 at 107 West Mason Street, with 244 seats. In May 1925, Young & Voight bought the business, followed in March 1926 by Mr. & Mrs. H.E. Upton, who renamed the theatre the Polo. On October 24, 1929, Moviephone sound equipment was installed and on October 27, the first talkie was shown, "Fox Movietone Follies of 1929". The theater was remodeled in 1935.
In 1944, Mrs. Upton started construction of the new Polo Theatre down the block.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 5/29/2002. Last edited 1/1/2006.