Photo from the Library of Congress collection
120 S Marion|
Oak Park IL
|Record #20523 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 800 seats|
Architectural Style(s): Art Deco
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Oak Park|
| Previously operated by: Essaness Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Bryan Krefft.
The Lamar was opened in 1913 as the Oak Park, a vaudeville and movie house which sat 800. Later operated by the Lubliner & Trinz chain, it was remodeled in 1930 as renamed the Lamar, for its location near the intersection of Lake and Marion. It closed in early 1980s and torn down in 1988.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 10/24/2002. Last edited 11/1/2016.