Grand Opera House
2002 Photo from the Ken Layton collection
302 Robert Bush Dr|
South Bend WA 98586
|Record #20378 |
Current Use: Retail
Capacity: 1000 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Layton.
Opened in 1907, closed in 1927. It was remodeled into a Masonic Lodge in 1932 and operated that way until 1983 when the building was sold. It is currently used for retail business as a T-shirt shop called "The Sweater Store". Theater was owned and operated by C.O. "Charlie" Rude (a prominent South Bend, Wash contractor) and John W. Kleeb (owner of Kleeb Lumber Company). The Kleeb mill just happened to provide all the lumber to build the theater! seating capacity was 1000 when opened. During the 1932 remodel, which substantially altered the building, the front half of the building was removed and the walls extended another 10 feet in height. The outside was plastered and some brickwork base trim added to the front portion of the building facing the main street.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
2002 photos from the Ken Layton collection.
25 KB · 450x294
27 KB · 450x298
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/23/2005. Last edited 1/23/2005.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!