1923 Photo from the Saint Louis Globe-Democrat collection
4949 Easton Ave|
Saint Louis MO
|Record #18905 |
Opened: February 8, 1923|
Closed: March 6, 1953
Current Use: Retail
Capacity: 1000 seats|
Architect(s): Paul Klingensmith; Leo Abrams
Current Organ: Robert Morton
| Also Known As: Ketchum|
| Previously operated by: Arthur Enterprises|
Information for this tour was contributed by Darren Snow.
In business by 1923, the Aubert was the scene of a horrible yet mundane tragedy a decade later, when stagehand Josiah J. Bennett cut his little finger while changing a sign and subsequently died of blood poisoning some ten days later.
Noted St. Louis architect Leo Abrams remodeled the venue in March 1946, after which it reopened with 1000 new upholstered seats and air conditioning. Just a few years later, the Arthur chain sold the theater, which was converted into a National Food Store. The building now houses a dollar store.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
February 1923 photos from the Saint Louis Globe-Democrat collection.
73 KB · 625x294
Documents remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
- New Photo Playhouse [News Article] [Size: 469 KB] Source: Saint Louis Globe-Democrat (February 4, 1923)
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 6/5/2016.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!