Information for this tour was contributed by Chad Hauris.
The Rio began operations as the Scott, next door to the original Rio, between 1942 and 1946. The original Rio was closed in about 1956 and demolished. The name "Rio" was moved next door in 1959, when the new Scott Theatre on North Texas opened. The lobby has been renovated, but the auditorium has not. All of the theatre chairs are still in place, but the screen and projection equipment have been removed. It ceased operations as a theatre in about 1975, later becoming the Luna from 1979 to 1983, and may have later been used as a night club.
2003 photos from the Adam Martin collection.
Photos from the Scott Neff collection.
The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.
© 1995-2016 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.