Odom Drive-In Theatre
9301 S Shields Blvd|
Oklahoma City OK
|Record #16427 |
Opened: July 2, 1947|
Closed: April 27, 1975
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 800 cars|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: 77 Drive-In|
| Previously operated by: Barton Theatres, Gulf States Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Wesley Horton.
The Drive in theater situation began in Oklahoma City shortly after the close of World War II in 1947. Two drive-in theaters opened on the same day, They were the Odom Drive-In and the Northwest Highway Drive-In.
The first movie billed was "Angel and the Badman" starring John Wayne and Gail Russell, with a Bugs Bunny cartoon and the Three Stooges short "Fright Night".
The Odom was sold soon after being built. Robert Lewis Barton purchased the drive-in sometime before April 1950 and renamed it "Bartons 77 Drive-in". It was closed in June of 1968 for remodeling. In 1981, the screen tower and some landscaping still existed on the site which was owned by a portable welding company until the mid 1980s, when the screen tower was demolished. As of 1997, nothing remains on the site.
The theater closed with "The Longest Yard" starring Burt Reynolds and "The Gambler" with James Caan on April 27, 1975.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 8/27/2002. Last edited 12/9/2009.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!