Holladay Center 6 Cinemas
2002 Photo from the Scott Neff collection
1945 E Murray-Holladay Rd|
Holladay UT 84117
|Record #1598 |
Opened: June 3, 1988|
Closed: November 17, 2016
Capacity: 1700 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: Cineplex Odeon Theatres, Loews Cineplex Entertainment, Westates Theatres, Water Gardens Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Grant Smith.
Cineplex Odeon opened the Holladay Center Cinemas on 3 June 1988, proclaiming it to be "the return of the elegant theatre." The six-screen multiplex featured "state-of-the-art wide screened cinemas" with "luxurious plush seating", "elegantly-designed contemporary interiors with marble floors", an original painting by artist Paul Sloggett, same-day advance ticket sales, and real butter on the popcorn. All auditoriums were equipped for Dolby Stereo and at one was equipped for 70mm presentations. 
After 14 years, the theater closed in March 2001 as part of the Loews Cineplex bankruptcy reorganization.
On 20 April 2001, Westates Theaters re-opened the Holladay Center after spending "several thousand dollars to refurbish several hundred of the seats in the Holladay Center's six auditoriums, install new computer software for ticketing and concessions and spruce up the sound in the auditoriums." "We think we've got the best theater in the area," said Tony Rudman Jr., vice president and corporate counsel for Westates. "This is a premium facility, and it's the perfect location. This theater fills a need for the area." 
1. Opening day ad, 3 June 1988
2. "Movie house merry-go-round", Deseret News, 20 April 2001
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
November 2002 photos from the Grant Smith collection.
94 KB · 625x469
136 KB · 625x469
98 KB · 625x469
120 KB · 625x469
115 KB · 625x469
2002 photos from the Scott Neff collection.
39 KB · 450x338
35 KB · 450x338
28 KB · 450x338
29 KB · 450x338
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/23/2005. Last edited 11/29/2016.