124 N Market St|
|Record #15429 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Use: Restaurant
Capacity: 900 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Daniel Gibbs.
This was built as a perverse economy of the mostly-German population. The original structure here was the Frederick City Hall of 1769. When it burned in the early 1870s, the city upgraded to this imposing brick building which housed municipal offices upstairs and a 1500-cramped-seat Opera House downstairs. Originally full of Victorian frou-frou, the theatre got a couple of half-hearted redecorations in the 10's and '20s (including one with bizarre Egyptian decor, featured in the Wicks Organ catalogue of the day). Ultimately, it could seat about 900, and was always second to the Tivoli after 1926. It was still beloved by Fredericktonians and, when the Opera House finally gave up the ghost, the city hall stayed on. City Hall moved to the old County Court House building in 1984. The old City Hall and Opera House building has been sensitively adapted, and is now an upscale brewpub and restaurant.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 4/14/2013.