1992 Photo from the John Lewis collection
415 E Baltimore|
|Record #15422 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Use: Night Club
Capacity: 1500 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Victoria|
Information for this tour was contributed by Daniel Gibbs.
This was one of the first "big" theatres downtown. It opened in 1908 and could seat about 1500. It was mainly a vaudeville theater until it became the Embassy in 1925. It was partially destroyed by fire in 1922, but in 1925 got a quarter-million dollar renovation in the Spanish mode and reopened as the Embassy. By the early 1930s, this neighborhood, never really fashionable anyway but right in the center of the city, started to get a little raffish. The theatre closed for good in the late 1940s. The 400 block of East Baltimore st. is now the city's infamous "Block", home to porno shops and strip clubs.
All that's left of the Victoria is its VERY narrow facade. You passed through this neoclassical portal with light bas-relief (most of which is still intact) back through a narrow hall to reach the now-demolished auditorium.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
June 1992 photos from the John Lewis collection.
81 KB · 439x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2/8/2004. Last edited 4/14/2013.