2006 Photo from the Adam Martin collection
410 N Bishop Ave|
|Record #13895 |
Current Use: Retail
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Rialto, Bishop Avenue|
Information for this tour was contributed by Bob Johnston.
The Astor was located at 410 N. Bishop Avenue in the Oak Cliff section of Dallas. It opened in 1919 as the Rialto Theater, part of the Foy's Neighborhood Theaters chain. Around 1932 it became the Bishop Avenue Theater (probably when the Old Mill Theater in downtown Dallas was renamed the Rialto); then in 1937 it was rechristened the Astor.
The theater closed in 1947 and is now an antique/art store.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
September 2013 photos from the Scott Neff collection.
88 KB · 625x469
November 2006 photos from the Adam Martin collection.
89 KB · 625x417
122 KB · 625x417
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 11/21/2004. Last edited 8/28/2013.