Photo from the Daniel Gibbs collection
1563 N Fulton Ave|
|Record #13861 |
Closed: March 2, 1952
Current Use: Church
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Gertrude McCoy|
Information for this tour was contributed by Daniel Gibbs.
Opened 1915 as the "Gertrude McCoy", named after the silent actress. Apparently she'd fallen out of fashion by 1927 as the name was changed to Fulton that year. Closed in 1952 but still there -- appears to be in good shape although it's just sitting empty. Great example of early movie house design -- the facade is a giant arch flanked by Ionic pillars.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
May 2006 photos from the Vivian Evans collection.
72 KB · 625x469
72 KB · 469x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 4/13/2013.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!