Twilite Drive-In Theatre
Photo from the Darren Snow collection
4015 Crittenden Dr|
|Record #13454 |
Opened: June 30, 1950|
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 1800 cars|
Architect(s): Louis A Arru
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Twin Drive-In, Twilight Drive-In|
Information for this tour was contributed by Darren Snow.
Designed by Louis A. Arru and built for $320,000, the Twin Drive-In was entered via driveways that tunneled below the screen tower. Opened on June 30, 1950, the ozoner offered 1800 parking spaces, plus 60 seats for walk-in customers. A feature article in the 1950-51 "Theatre Catalog" revealed that additional amusement facilities were planned for the site. This turned out to be something of an understatement, as the Kentucky Kingdom amusement park later took over the land. A rollercoaster now stands where the drive-in used to be.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the Darren Snow collection.
42 KB · 400x266
33 KB · 350x240
20 KB · 400x138
37 KB · 400x308
18 KB · 300x190
23 KB · 400x153
22 KB · 400x153
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/19/2005. Last edited 5/18/2010.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!