1948 Photo from the Don Lewis collection
4809 W Fort St|
|Record #13225 |
Opened: September 24, 1927|
Capacity: 3436 seats|
Architect(s): Charles N Agree; Mayger & Graven
Architectural Style(s): Spanish
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
When the Hollywood opened on September 24, 1927, it was Detroit's second largest movie palace. Owners Ben and Lou Cohen built the Spanish-style theater at a cost of $2 million. Opening day featured Alias the Deacon and the "Hollywood-Sunnybrook Orchestra," led by Sammy Diebert. Never getting into the widescreen features or roadshows, the Hollywood suffered along with double-billed films and closed in 1958 with "Blonde in Bondage" and "The Flesh is Weak". The theater was razed in 1963 to make way for a parking lot.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
1948 photos from the Don Lewis collection.
56 KB · 418x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 2/27/2009.