Riverview Drive-In Theatre
1951 Photo from the Darren Snow collection
|Record #12815 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 700 cars|
Architectural Style(s): Colonial
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Darren Snow.
Built from plans laid out by Motiograph, Inc., the Riverview Drive-In opened on May 18, 1950. A feature article in the 1950-51 "Theater Catalog" detailed the interesting screen tower configuration: Living quarters were located underneath the tower, and there was a stage in front for live entertainment. The $100,000 theater, with a capacity of 700 cars, was owned by R.L. Gaines, Gene Bickers, Harry Berge and William Gentry; their first manager was Walter L. Wood. After the drive-in was demolished, Dow-Corning built a plant on the site.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the 1950-1951 Theatre Catalog collection.
35 KB · 400x295
28 KB · 400x208
22 KB · 400x188
25 KB · 400x269
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/19/2005. Last edited 1/19/2005.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!