2002 Photo from the Adam Martin collection
44 Adams Ave W|
|Record #12660 |
Opened: September 1, 1917|
Closed: November 17, 1988
Capacity: 1770 seats|
Architect(s): C Howard Crane
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Greater Adams|
This Kunsky theater opened on September 1, 1917, with the stage show "Romance". The Adams was running motion pictures by 1918. Vitaphone equipment was added in 1927, and the theater abandoned silent films for "talkies".
The Adams was remodeled in 1935, and was one of the first theaters in Michigan equipped for CinemaScope in 1953 for the film "Knights of the Round Table". In 1958, the theater was equipped for MGM Camera 65.
Controlled by the Balaban/Katz chain, the Adams was sold to the local Community Theatres circuit in 1963, and was again remodeled. During the 1960s, the theater frequently served as a venue for roadshows, and during the 1970s, survived by showing R- and X-rated exploitation films. The theater was split in three in 1988.
In October of 1988, a man was killed during a show, and the following month, two youths were wounded during a shootout before the show. The theater closed four days later, November 17, 1988, with "Halloween 4" and "Messenger of Death" on the marquee.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
2002 photos from the Adam Martin collection.
31 KB · 450x338
Patrons entered the ...
39 KB · 450x338
The auditorium was l...
41 KB · 450x338
There was an overhea...
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 11/28/2004. Last edited 4/15/2010.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!