Photo from the Darren Snow collection
318 Lemay Ferry Rd|
|Record #12528 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: Wehrenberg Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Darren Snow.
Opened in 1929 in a suburb just blocks from the St. Louis city limits, the Lemay flourished until the 1960s, when it began going in and out of business frequently. The last burst of activity came in the mid-1980s, when Harman Moseley took it under his wing alongside his other independent cinema, the Kirkwood. Second-run films were seen for $1.50, and the Lemay did well enough under this arrangement to add a second screen. The final movies were shown in the late 1980s, but the building has been used off and on for various activities since then.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
July 2002 photos from the Adam Martin collection.
31 KB · 450x300
33 KB · 300x450
26 KB · 450x218
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 3/8/2005. Last edited 12/17/2009.
Buy movie tickets, look up showtimes, watch trailers and more!