Photo from the Scott Norwood collection
423 Granby St|
|Record #12471 |
Capacity: 1188 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Lee, Granby Mall|
Early records are sketchy, but indicate that the original Granby Theatre opened in 1915 where the Federal Building is today. It moved down the street in 1923, to the 400 block. In 1967, the Granby was purchased by Fabian Theatres, who renamed it the Lee Theatre after a renovation. Adult films were playing by the time Phil and Louis Bress bought the theatre in 1976. The Bresses renamed it the Granby Mall Cinema and the theatre was a short-lived success playing family fare until the owners retired and locked the doors in 1987. Around 1990, Richard Levin purchased the theatre. He had no intention of restoring it, just preventing its destruction.
In 2000, the building was repainted, which made the exterior look much more attractive. And, finally, in 2002, developer Bobby Wright paid $600,000 for the building with the hopes of restoring it, possibly as a dinner theater like the Commodore in Portsmouth.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the Scott Norwood collection.
65 KB · 625x409
61 KB · 625x402
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/23/2005. Last edited 2/3/2007.