Photo from the Darren Snow collection
5500 Lansdowne Ave|
Saint Louis MO 63109
|Record #11288 |
Opened: February 27, 1926|
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Southampton|
Information for this tour was contributed by Darren Snow.
Actually, this one started as the Southampton, but that name lasted less than five years. The "Roxy" sign hung there for over 40 years, until the building was replaced by two small houses. There are some hilarious stories about this one, too...mostly about how the aged neighbors (circa 1975) didn't want it turned into a church-sponsored coffee house because they feared it would attract a racially-mixed group of drug-addicted bikers. We all know how THEY love to hang out at Christian coffee houses.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 7/8/2002. Last edited 6/6/2016.